I walked out if this tiny rip off joint in that strip mall off South Orlando at Gaitlin on Tuesday when the $7 yellowtail nigiri on the menu rang up at plus $8. The inane menu read that ALL were the same price. Even vegetable ones. So stupid. And evidently incorrect. Even an avocado roll is $11. All are at that price like the nigiri. Not sure how they will ring up. And the fish in the case looked as mediocre in quality as every other entry level sushi bar. I'll toss in the helpful AYYCE price points of $13 at Koy Won and $18 at Ocean Buffet to shame these short busers. The menu was mostly hibachi as well. They had months of delays opening. Maybe there should have been more? They are on some serious drugs price wise. Open for under a month. Will be out of business before the end of the year. Avoid. I could smell this was going to be a waste of time. Just like the coffee place next to it.
Orlandoer - To Do Guide for Orlando Florida
**Follow @Orlandoer8 on X for posting updates.** Use lousy Search by Google feature (try quotation marks around word) to find: Travel Notes, Tutorials, PSAs, Events and Enterprises
Wednesday, March 25, 2026
Monday, March 23, 2026
Grub Crawl - Longwood: Summer Breeze, Three Odd Guys, Moe's Pizza and Pixie's
I tried these spots on 434 SE of I4 on Friday at lunch and dinner. The first is in the strip mall by the train tracks that has Dough Boyz. Across from Cupid's. The others are in the strip mall behind the Huey Magoo's back towards I4.
Summer Breeze - Roti+. Trinidadian. Opened a few weeks ago. I had the chicken roti with three sides for $16.55. The chicken came in a broth. White chunks. No veg, etc. The roti was the disintegrating kind made with ground peas. Large. They talked me into chick peas, potatoes and mango something for the sides. The mango wasn't really a side. More of a jelly. Two side sauces. A nice hot one and a vinegar one. The chicken was bland. Maybe this is appealing to some who find Indian too assertive. I found that you needed to incorporate the other things included in the meal. It was fine. I'm not a huge fan of this style of cooking. It wasn't poorly made. The menu is small. A few other wraps and some stews. Small space. Not a ton of decor. Maybe four tables. Full. And with honkeys. Three or four Indian women cooking/serving.
Three Odd Guys Brewing - Moved from Apopka. Four tvs. Bar. Stainless steel brewing equipment. Clean. I watched the tourney. Had a few drafts. Good addition.
Moe's Pizza - Just opened. I believe it replaced another pizza place. I think Moe is short for Mohammed. Had a 12" classic cheese for $12. Not great. Ok sauce. More spicy than sweet. Rubbery cheese. No crust. Bad dough. Bitter herbs. Sour taste. Probably conveyor belt (had machine markings underneath). I went elsewhere while it was cooking, so, I didn't check out the oven (or lack of one). Calzones, stromboli, burgers, fries, apps, salads, wings, subs, wraps and desserts. I don't trust Italian places that serve non-Italian fare. A few tables. Pass.
Pixie's Magical Corner Patisserie - Next to Moe's. I went here to grab some ice cream from a place that no longer exists (these guys absorbed them) which only opened after 2pm (so I was never there when they were). I (lost the receipt) believe I paid $5 for a 4 Leches and $8 for a Chicken BLAT. Both were good. I believe I've had one other 4 Leches and gave you the obvious smarmy remark that it beats the 3 Leches. The BLAT was a real bargain. On toast. Bacon was real crisp and fresh. Good avocado. Snappy Romaine lettuce. Fresh tomato. Ripped up pieces of real roast chicken. A nice amount. The 4 Leches is a cake. Sweet leches topping could work on rice pudding. Comes in a tin. They have alot of pastries and sandwiches and meals like stew. As stated, they took over the ice cream shop and broke down the wall between them. I rejected the ice cream because it is just Hershey's. I'm not sure if the old place made their own. Two Latin women were serving. They said they were from Miami. A nice find. High marks for value. A few seats. One person there at early dinner.
*I noticed that Uno Mas out front of the strip mall has closed. A sign for Indian Express in its' place. Not open yet.
Saturday, March 21, 2026
Grub Crawl - Clermont and Maitland: Orochi Ramen and Fragaria
I tried these spots on Tuesday after lunch returning from the Gulf Coast. The first is in a strip mall aside a McDonald's near the 75 on ramp on East Colonial (50). The other is in the strip mall on 17-92 (N Orlando) and Howell Branch. It was Melt. I was only around there because of a crash on I4.
Orochi Ramen - I had the Tantanman Ramen. I dont know if it is a real thing or their concoction, but, it was great. Cost $16. Kind of Thai-esque. Creamy (like coconut milk) and spicy pork broth. The listing cited sesame paste. I did taste that flavor. I thought it was sesame oil. Tasty ground pork. Fresh, tiny bok choy. Shaved, in tact tranches of corn off the cob. Narutomaki (surimi discs). The noodles had a yellow hue. Wavy. Great toothiness. Fine half of a seven minute egg (ajitama). I saved about a quarter of it to pour over rice for dinner the next day. The Thai-esque part. They said they have been open for three years. I remember reading about their opening. I thought there was some reason to seek them out (I always just drove by in the past). I cant remember now. Fourteen small plates ($5-$12) like gyoza and spam musubi. Three rice bowls ($13). Six other ramens ($16-$20) including oxtail. Three desserts. Small place. Around eight tables. Some Japanese decor. White. I think it was open everyday for L and D. Two servers. Will be a Favorite. And you know I'm not big on ramen.
Fragaria - Ice cream. I believe it is a vegan blah blah. Touts New Zealand style. This equates to fresh fruit being incorporated into the mix. I don't think they invented THAT. No joke. The worst ice cream I have ever had (and I have made my own). A chocolate scoop was $6. And that was the LOW water mark. The consistency was feathery (in a bad way). Chocolate the way those Tiger Milk protein bars used to be. An ODD (bad) sweetener. I suspect that whatever dietary rules they follow don't allow for dairy and that this is water based. If it didn't cost an arm and a leg, I would have thrown it away. I really would select a Frostee over this. At least that is so bland that there isn't an aftertaste. Five or six tables. Order at a counter. Only open after 3pm. I'm sure it will be a big hit with vagina hat wearers.
*I would like to take this moment to address an issue that has been weighing on me for many months/years. The amount of failures/closures in the food prep space. It is my suspicion that many of you did not have enough of a foundation in economics (or practical sense) to have a real shot (or to understand that you never had a chance to get the return that you expected). Many of you seem to calculate your expenses first and multiple that by an expected profit margin that will give you the return you need or think you are worth. Some of you (I expect) do not know the diffeence between fixed costs and variable costs or how to properly calculate cost of goods sold. The two largest mistakes made I believe are over valuing what you think your time is worth (and even including it in CGS) and over pricing your product. Which I guess is a corollary. The price of the product is what the market is bearing at the this point in time. If you can not make it substantially better or for the same price, do not enter the market! If you want to get rich in this industry, do not enter the market! This is not law or medicine or civil service. This is manual labor. Don't do this because nothing else seems fun or you can't get your foot in the door anywhere else. Become a Democrat and sign up for one of their numerours grifting programs or give aways. Most of the people who do not shutter their doors are taking no salary or profits and are drowning in debt. Your answer can not be "raise prices". Higher prices equal lower unit volume which at best gets you back where you started. You are not a neccesity item. The only thing you really have some control over is costs. That begins (not ends) with you. You will/should suffer first. No matter how you allocate cost. So, calculate your unit costs or ROI conservatively before you disappoint yourself with $6 scoops of uneaten ice cream.
Thursday, March 19, 2026
Travel Notes - Valspar Championship in Palm Harbor Florida
Tuesday, March 17, 2026
Grub Crawl - International Drive and Sea World Area; Moon Wok, El Genio del Shwarma and Fin Siam Thai
I tried these spots on Friday at lunch. The first two are in a strip mall south of Central Florida Parkway on International Dr near Sea World. The last is in a strip mall near Pointe Orlando. I believe a Walgreens is on the corner.
Moon Wok - Opened two weeks ago. I sense it is Cantonese. I had the sauteed chicken with mixed vegetables for $12. Good. The veg (carrot/snow peas/broccoli/peppers) were the star. Very fresh. The chicken was a bit tough. The common light colored sauce that I believe is made from chicken or vegetable stock and starch. The rice underneath (in a bowl) was a tad mushy. Closing in on congee. Although, it made it easier to pick up with the metal chopsticks. Decent sized for a "half" lunch portion. Seemed full to me. They said the dishes are family size. The menu was small. I almost went with a two meat (duck and char siu pork ribs) option for $19. I remember Dan Dan Noodles and General Tso's Chicken. They had around seven apps and dim sum. $8 or $9 for siu mai, shrimp balls, char siu bao, mochi meat dumplings or shrimp dumplings. I believe this is twice what I am willing to pay. I'm a hard liner. I'll just pass if this is where the market is going. Especially if I don't know if they are hand made or frozen food section. The place looks nice. The floor plans in this strip mall make for long, bowling alley floor plans. A thirteen seat bar is on the right (plus two tables). The steel, open kitchen is over there too. The middle has several larger group tables. The left wall has five or six gray uphoslstered booths with black table tops for four. There are trees and leafy branches all about. Paper lamps. Inner tube shaped white lights. Lit up back splash between the bar and the kitchen with cubes holding curios. Ivory looking disc with heron looking bird behind the bar. Black, red and gray color schemes. Lounge-y look. Three tables occupied. Decent cutlery and ceramics and stemware. Service in black unis was good. They have booze. Solid addition.
El Genio del Shwarma - I went in once and the guys seemed sketchy, so, I left. Now it appears to have been handed over to Venezulans. The menu is that plus the shwarmas. They talked me into the mixed (chicken/steak) shwarma. I figured it may be the last one I could safely order for some time. It was shockingly good. SOOO much meat. Little bits and regular sized pieces. Not shavings. I didn't find one bite of gristle. The steak was very tender yet with a crusty shell. The veg and sauce weren't great. They didn't have a traditional tahini or tzatiki or hummus. Just their Venezuelan green garlic sauce. The wrap was ok. It did take a while for the one cook to get this done. It cost $18. Big menu. Categories: arepas (12), empanadas (12), cachapas (7), snacks (9), pastelitos (5), sides (4), grills (3), pepitos (4), patacones (6), mixed (4), shwarmas (10), hot dogs (6), hamburgers (7) and some funky drinks like pina colada. Rectangular floor plan. Less narrow than Moon Wok. Three row of tables and both. Rustic. Large, four combined tvs on one wall. Order at a counter. Open kitchen. Five tables occupied. All ex-pats. Probably worth a second look. The music was too lud and annoying.
Fin Siam Thai - Opened a month or two ago. I just grabbed a tom kha shrimp to go because all the rice or noodles dishes STARTED at $22. The soup looked a little modest when I pulled out the container. But, probably more than a serving in house. It was also very good. Three fresh, plump shrimp. Nice coconut milk flavor. Fine heat. Quartered, real mushroom. Probably worked out better for me than a main dish. It cost $10. The place is a bit worn for a new opening. Wood on wood. Some Thai decoration. Maybe eight tables. One seated. Open for lunch or dinner.
*There was a Brazilian Steakhouse called Da Silva in the first strip mall. Open for lunch. They had non-beef, well priced (mid teens) lunch specials (fried mojarra, lasagna, tilapia, etc). I thought it was a pm place. Also there, a Chocolate Museum cum shoppe and a sketchy Indian place and a ice cream/drink place and a beer spa. I checked in to the strip mall on Central Florida Parkway that has Oza Izakaya (pm only). A sushi place and something I think was called Arepecita (after 3pm) there too. I also popped back into Slap! for a good $8 crispy pancake with braised pork that I had denied myself the first time. Like an arepa. When exactly was the last American/European restaurant opened in this town? Seems like every place I try is some kind of Colonial Spanish or Asian. The new Divers-city.
Saturday, March 14, 2026
Travel Notes - Arizona and Nevada
Wednesday, March 11, 2026
Grub Crawl - 436 and Mills Ave: Aroma and Rogen's
Sunday, March 8, 2026
Auto Accident Tutorial
Thursday, March 5, 2026
Travel Notes - Firestone Grand Prix of St Petersburg
Monday, March 2, 2026
Grub Crawl - Disney and International Drive Areas: Amor y Chile and Sal's Pizza
Saturday, February 28, 2026
Nawabi, Lake Mary
Wednesday, February 25, 2026
Ocean Buffet, East Colonial (50)
I tried this AYCE Sino-Japanese Buffet today at lunch. It was plan D. Plan A was N'Grano Cafe in WP. Not open. Brown paper on windows. Pop Up Bagels. Not Open. Still not close. Hikiniku at Juju. $42 burgers turned out to be a bad idea. Who would have guessed. They only do pop us once a month now (if at all). That left this. It turned out to be good. Only $18. You go up and collect your meal. Sushi, hibachi, hot Chinese and American dishes. Dim Sum. Salad bar. Cold shellfish (including snails). Desserts. Soup. Etc. It would have been a Fav (and it will still now replace Koy Wan as my sushi filler upper) had the replenishing been better. As a for instance, once the salmon nigiri plate was cleaned out, they only put two more pieces on. Didn't even exchange plates. Most of the plates were near empty as I left. None had been replenished. I sat at around 11:30am. I had a mere 34 pieces (because some one really tagged me with the flu on Route 66 and I still am not myself), two head on salt and pepper shrimp (bad), two har gow (terrible mush), two soup dumplings (better), a fried shrimp (worse than Winn Dixie salad bar), a spring roll (good) and a bad square of mapo tofu. The sushi rice wasn't great. Ok. The tuna quality was good. In rolls. Most of the assortment is rolls. Many kinds. They only did mackerel, shrimp, kani and salmon nigiri. The place was huge. High ceilings. Around fifty booths. Almost all filled. Alot of Asian groups and Medicare recipients. Here's a 2025/26 shocker - gray, black and white color scheme! Wood accents. Wavy wood beam ceiling. Large geisha mural. Clean, New. Gray upholstry. Food on the left. Sushi prep area in the middle. Lots of signs and descriptions of dishes. Lots of staff. In black. They filled my water when I went away. Gray plates. They said they had locations in Ocala and Gainesville. Open a month or two. Plenty of parking. At Fashion Square Mall on Maguire. 11am on every day. I liked the value.
*I tried to try Fragaria Ice Cream in Maitland. I saw they had opend on Fox 35. These cunts only want want to work AFTER 3pm! I saw on the way that Joe and Juice had brown paper on their windows and we may be entering a Turci epoch. They are opening a Osteria at the Midici Pizza space in Maitland. They had a sign up. It wasn't there when I tried Selva Rosa. Brown paper on the windows. And Naya at Trelago in Maitland is still a ways away. And on Mills, Little Sister Dumpling and something Rice (I think it was to be called Hot as Rice) still have the brown paper on their windows. They were also tearing down some buildings that I hope will be promised restaurants soon. I am also taking the following locations off my list because I don't believe they will ever be - Mason's Lobster Roll, Tropix, Snooze AM. Any word on Oak & Stone on Park Ave? I forget to tell you that that dive bar near the tracks at Lake Ivanhoe on Virginia is gone. A new condo is there now. Happened so fast.
Sunday, February 22, 2026
Travel Notes - Texas Oklahoma Missouri (Route 66)
Thursday, February 19, 2026
Grub Crawl - UCF Area: Desi Bistro, Hasuu/Bambuu, Knights Curry Express and Senor Taco
Monday, February 16, 2026
Grub Crawl - Mills Rd and Orlando: Z Cafe and Lele's Snack
I tried these spots on Tuesday at lunch. The first is inbetween 50 and Virginia. The second is inbetween 50 and 408 on 436.
Z Cafe - A Vietnamese place. A few months old. I'm not sure what was in this large space before. I just grabbed a banh mi special to go for $9. All good except for the roll. I think they tried to resucitate it by nuking it. That made it a giant crouton. Pate. Three types of above the usual meats. Mayo. Good veg. Seven apps including Chinese har gow. Five banh mi. Five fried rices. Six pho. Three beef dishes. Fifteen noodle dishes. Coffees. Juices. Teas. Drinks including pennywort. Gray. Black. Faux marble. Around sixteen tables. I kind of remember hearing about them. Thought it was Z Asian moving location. Nice surprise.
Lele's Snack - Venezuelan. I just grabbed what was ready. A ground beef empanada for $5. Ok. Small Spartan space. Fourteen listed emanadas. One called baby shark. Arepas. Pasteles. Bebidas. Offered me free coffee. Four tables.
Sunday, February 15, 2026
La Campana, Lee Rd
I tried this Mexican restaurant on the west side of I4 on Monday at lunch. They said the have been there for six years. I thought I had been to every place around there. No evidence on this site though. I grabbed a huarache (sandal) with carnitas to go for $15. It was good. I do wish that Mexican (and bbq) places would do away with pulling their meats into little, long piles of string. This pork had the usual dried out portions. Those really needed to not be stringy. Wears out your molars. If they don't cause a choking hazard. The lettuce, avocado, pickled onions etc were fresh and clean enough. I saw a plate of sopes (spheres) that also looked above board. They don't seem to just slop things together. Wonderful, simple plating. Didn't include chips and salsa. Saw tables there getting them. Not sure if they were charged. I learned of this through a circular. Two for one offers there if you get two drinks. And daily bargains like three tacos for $5 on Tuesday. The menu is large. Ambitious. They have the ususals (fajitas, burritos, etc) with things like octopus or parrillada plates. Prices rise to $45. Eight soups. Ceviche. Oysters. Mojarra. Pargo. Michoacan pork. Birria. Tortas. Different options and price points for most budgets. I was reasonably impressed. The place must have been an old Pizza Hut or something. Gray and black with and octopus mural. Low ceiling. Small bar. Patio. Two sets of booths for four on either wall. Two tables for eight and two for four in between. You could way worse. They were even sophisticated enough to have/hand out a $10 gift card with a QR Code that you could use to order directly with them. Means "the bell".
Monday, February 9, 2026
Grub Crawl - Longwood and Lake Mary: Guntur Kitchen and Made in Puerto Rico
I tried these spots Saturday at dinner. The first is in a strip mall across from Hourglass Brewery on Ronald Reagan Blvd. The second is in a strip mall on Lake Mary Blvd on the road that goes to the high school. There is a Chamberlain's there. I was going to go to a place called Longwood Social Club initially. The entire row of shops it was on seemed condemned. I guess it is too. It was there a few weeks ago.
Guntur Kitchen - I have been told it is a location in India (Andhra Pradesh in the SE of India) known for spice (chili capitol of India). It has a small menu that I believe changes frequently. Today they had three mains. Mutton with rice or dosa, Chicken something and Vegetable Kheema Dum Biryani. I had the biryani for $16 to go. It was probably the best I've had. The two toned (white and yellow) basmati was prepared perfectly. Soft. Moist. Whatever the make up of the wads of vegetable were, they were terrific. Some much of them. Tempeh? *I just looked it up and this dish is made with minced meat. Receipt says Veg though. The portion size was fit for four. The spicing was remarkable. And I'm no vegan. But, like In and Out burgers, I'm coming to the conclusion that as the former are tastier without cheese, Indian food may not improve with meat. You really can never taste it anyway. They included the best raita I've ever had. A bit spicy with cucumber and onion and tomato. They also had around a dozen apps like dosas and snacks like fried chicken. A few desserts and drinks like lassi. The place is small. Four mis-mosh tables. Red and yellow and white and gray. A few framed pieces of art on one wall. Closed Monday and Tuesday. I think they do lunch. It's a mom and pop shop. Opened a few months ago. Will be a Favorite. No added charges.
Made in Puerto Rico - They said they have one by the Cracker Barrel at the airport on 4366 and in Throgs Neck NY. I can't believe I wasn't aware or haven't seen the first. Huge menu of the usuals. Plus they do brunch on the weekends and catering. Open for lunch and dinner. Fancy. I had the pollo guisado (chicken stew) with side for $16 to go because I don't love Puerto Rican food and I thought the biryani may need help in the form of chicken. The shoestring fries (side) were perfect. Alot. I ate them with the raita. The four small pieces of bone in thigh meat were fine. No real flavor. The sauce is tomato based. It also was pretty bland. Came with a with slices of carrot and potato. Also bland. Not a huge portion of stew. I ate it with the biryani the next day. Rhett and Link have this segment where they ask "Will it?" Like soda ramen. Guisado. Will it biryani? Yes! They pork and steak, seafood and chicken dishes. A few sandwiches at $17. A trifongo (new to me). Prices rise to $65. They spent alot on the refurb. It was the Lake Mary Social Club or something and a dive bar before that. Never went. Scarface vibe. Mostly shiny black. Two fake white leaved trees. Split into a seated bar section with a few high tops and three tables near the bath. Four booths aside four tables of four and then two tables of six. There were some kind of techno light projectors above them. The bar stocked top shelf booze. Around ten beers on tap. Digital displays were pimping Happy Hour, Super Bowl Watch Party, Champagne Brunch and Ladies' Night. Marc Anthony was on the wall and the speakers. Other paintings of Puerto Rican celebrities. Lots of staff in black. The crowd and staff were all Hispanic. They chose a weird neighborhood to put down roots in. I am not aware of a large wealthy Hispanic population in that area. But, I don't know everything. That strip mall doesn't have a reputation for success. I think the Tijuana Flats is pretty much the only survivor/attempter over the years. They are surely taking the biggest swing at changing that. I hope they beat the odds. I may have seen enough to make them a Fav. The attractive hostess and great fries didn't hurt their chances. Opened two weeks ago. I believe they have a sign that read that they had lunches starting at $9.99. It will be interesting to see how they juggle the vibe/clientele. Dressy/clubby evenings with a likely sloppy lunch crowd. They added a charge for credit card.
*Apropos of nothing, Aldi has further diminished Winn Dixie (as if that was possible) by changing out their tuna fish supplier. No pull top. Less full though the label says the same ounces. Water weight? Way inferior quality of tuna. Worse label. Raised the price. This is hardly the only negative change. With no positive ones. Keep on truckin' Aldiculous Aldicks. I mean fuckin'.
Saturday, February 7, 2026
Grub Crawl - Sanford: Arepas Cafe & More and Akira Sushi
I tried these spots at competing strip malls at Lake Mary Blvd and 17-92 on Thursday at lunch. There was also a new Filipino market called Del Guzman that doesn't open until noon and didn't have any of the described prepared food ready for yet another hour.
Arepas Cafe & More - Just opened here. Original on 436 in Altamonte Springs. Said that has been around for nine years. Don't know how I missed it. I just grabbed two of the only three "ready" empanadas for $4 (they said $3.50). All ham and cheese. Thinnest sliver of ham ever. Mexican string cheese. Smooth crescent shell. Sweet cornmeal. A bit greasy. The namesake arepas are $10 to start. Or are they? Check your receipt. They have breakfast items. A plate was around $13. An egg and cheese sandwich around $8. Other traditional types of snacks. Some full plates. Not cheap. Around four tables. Not much decor. One or two employees. One other customer. Venezuelan.
Akira Sushi & Steak House - Been there forever. Empty. Looked scary, so, I tried the $12 lunch hibachi chicken box as a result. Looked like Lean Cuisine, but, actually ok. No weird bits of grilled chicken. Orange goop sauce. Fried rice had no meat and was a bit soggy. Two crescent shaped fried crab rangoons were pretty good. Greasy. Four piece Cali roll was ok. Typical big menu. Nigiri starts at $4.25. AYCE is $30. I wouldn't trust that. Looked like they only stocked four or five items. Six hibachi tables. Off white/yellow walls. Dark wood. Two Chinese employees and a Mexican sushi chef.
Thursday, February 5, 2026
Travel Notes - Alabama Louisiana Florida
Travel Notes - Alabama Louisiana Florida: I rented a car for a week from Hertz for $15. I used points because it would have cost $473. I had to do this because the nimrods at Sanford Paint and Body didn't finish my repairs in time. That will be a Tutorial. I stayed here the first day. I drove to Gainesville and had a lunch TMNT sandwich at The Paper Bag Deli DT (3D) for $14. The whole town is metered parking. I continued on to West Pensacola and stayed at the poor Country Inn West (Booking 8.2) for $71. Walmart Cobb Salads dinner.
The next day I stopped in Mobile. Grabbed an ok Spanish SOS Squid to go at Squid Ink (Travels with Darley) for $18. Saw a newish food court called Parc le Tralour. They are dicks about meters too. Drove around and found a closed Hummingbird Oyster Bar (3D). They were setting up for Mardi Gras parades. I found free parking at the Blind Mule (Chow Down Countdown #75) back DT. Got the $21 chili cb with fries to go. Drove to 12W and the North Shore at Covington. Stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn (Expedia 8.6) for $101. Drove at Abita Brewing in Abita Springs. BK dinner. I saw Covington and Abita Springs on Samantha Brown's Places to Love. They are on the north shore of Lake Pontchartrain.
The next day I drove through DT Covington. Saw the Southern Hotel, etc. Cute town. Drove 190S to the lake in Mandeville. 22W to 55S/51S to Akers/Manchac. Had a thin fried catfish plate with hp and ff at Middendorf's (Food Paradise and Good Eats) for $23. Down to 10E to 610E. Exited on the Canal St exit. Went to City Park for the first time. Went to NOMA and Besthoff Sculpture Garden. Maybe the best things in NO. Garden is free. Drove around the park. Tad Gormley Stadium (mostly UNO track), Botanical Garden, City Putt, Carousel Gardens Amusement Park. They even have a Cafe du Monde here. Down Orleans. Grabbed a cochon de lait (pulled pork with cole slaw) at Katies's (3D) for $18. It turned out to be on the same block as that Liuzza's place I went to a few trips back. Down Bienville a few blocks to a real surprise - Neyow's Creole Cafe (I forget the show). I was getting "you mind if we dance wif your dates" vibes, but, they delivered excellent fried chicken, carrot souffle and mac and cheese for $18. The souffle was a first. Like pumpkin pie filling. They made the mac with thin/short vermicelli or something. A first too. I went east a block or two to the Parkway Bakery (Samantha Brown's Places to Love). Grabbed an alligator sausage po boy to go for $11. This was a cool spot. Had parking. I should state here that I ate the cochon and po boy the next day. Both were good. To the Garden District and the Marsh Hotel (Expedia 9.2) for $95. They lied about the parking. I got a spot because I showed up exactly at 4pm, but, there were only two spots. They also didn't give me a great room. I should state here that almost every location except those in FL wanted exorbitant rates for the weekend. Think $400+.
The next day I drove through Pensacola to 90E to Santa Rosa Beach FL. Stayed at the brand new Tru by Hilton (Expedia 9.6) for $88. Had a free wine tasting at Emerald Coast Wine Cellars at Miramar Beach. They are part of that Chautauqua Winery in Defuniak Springs. Let's put it this way - all wines were non vintage. Grabbed an overpriced, un-pressed or impressive Cuban with potato wedges at Stinky's Fish Camp on 30A for $22.
The next day I stopped for a $15 bagel with smoked salmon, cc, capers, pickled onions and tomato at Coastal Coffee & Cafe. Drove 30A (a jjoy) to 90E. Stopped at St Joe's Shrimp at Hunt's on St Joe Bay in Cape San Blas for llb of steamed white shrimp for $22. They said it was caught there. Said the moratorium on oyster harvesting is lifting in March and some is allowed now. Stopped at Leon Sinks Geological Area in Crawfordville (open this time). North to Tallahassee to Railroad Square. I can't believe I had never been to this cool little area before. Had an ok curry chicken and an ok chickpea empanada at Pineappetit (3D) for $12. They are known for filled, carved out pineapples. That wouldn't travel well. Saw the basketball arena (Donald L Tucker Civic Center). Almost went to a game. Drove on to Orlando.
Spent $355 on hotels. $244 on food/etc. $116 on gas. Total = $730. I think the last time I did this route was right as DeSantis ordered us home for Covid.
Tuesday, February 3, 2026
Grub Crawl - Epic Universe and Florida Mall Areas: Half Barrel, Pho Sky Blossom, Gozumba, Turull's and Mazala Pijja
I tried these spots Sunday at lunch. The first is on Universal Blvd in a strip mall. The second is in a strip mall at the northwest corner at Sand Lake and OBT. The third is in the strip mall on the northeast corner of that intersection. The fourth is in a strip mall one block east of that on Sand Lake. The last is in a strip mall south of that on Doss Ave that I believe is called Lakshmi.
Half Barrel Beer Project - They said they have been there for nine years. I believe this is the last brewery that has escaped me in CF. I had two 5ozers that seemed like less than that at $3.50 a piece. A nice hibiscus one and an ok Mexican lager. Small place. Only four of their own brews. Some food. New looking. Tvs. This whole area is pristine. Brand spanking new.
Pho Sky Blossom - I had the chicken pho at $17 after they said they couldn't do a crab and tomato one. It was fine. Lots of breast meat that I wish they wouldn't tear length wise. Nor add older batches to the fresh ones. Noodles seemed store bought. They couldn't bother to separate them. Like a brick. All stuck together. Typical menu and prices. The place is black and pink and gray. Cherry blossom tree in front of four tvs patched together to make one huge one showing a tourism video for Vietnam. Stage. Wicker lamp shades. Two metal ones. Some stone accents. Gray stuffed cushion back chairs. A half wall topped with feathers. Kitchen behind that. A mini L shape layout. Four blue cushioned seat tables and a bar in the front. Eight tables for six or more on the spine of the L. Two servers. Dressed in black. About half full. Took a bit long to ladle soup. An ok experience on a cold afternoon. I will take issue with the sriracha et al they presented me. All half full and dirty. A bad look.
Gozumba - Walked in and out. Some kind of trash nightclub. Was frisked going in. Can't imagine eating there.
Turull's Kitchen & Bar - I like tapas. I don't like paying people astronomical mark ups to put them on a plate for me. As such, I grabbed the cheapest thing to go. $7 tortilla de patata (1 piece). Now I'm unsure if they sliced one piece into three tiny ones or they made a mistake or this is how they count in Spain, but, I received three tinies. Side of garlic mayo. Ok. Not sure if they made it. The menu has bites like croquetas and empanadas at $13. Calamares, gambas, pulpo in the twenties. Sausage, soup, tostones, etc. Mains like Carnes in the forties. Seafood in the thirties. Paellas in the forties. I didn't see portion sizes. Only two tables eating. Five desserts. Gray, white, red and black. Counter on the left. Tiny glass wine closet at the entrance. Mostly filled with Lan. Light bulb tipped tree. Bottle of wine mural. Blue and white checker board backed chairs. Wood tables. Open kitchen in the rear. Around a dozen tables and seats at the counter. Seemed estrogen fueled. I'm sure it's good. I just don't have that USAID, Somali day care or South American despot money. Nor a stolen credit card. Their in house video had images of Mallorca on it. Not sure if the food takes on this character. I thought they were newish, but, their sign read 2023. I believe they are closed on Monday.
Mazala Pijja - I assumed this would be as pointless as the five other previous places here that I have been forced to endure. I am a big whatever is the opposite of a fan of Indian pizza (or most fusion). It just has too much of its own character to blend. Plus all these suckers were around $20 for a 12" pijja shit. The meatballs on some people. Needless to say there wasn't one person in there eating. Needless to say I chose a $5 mango lassi to go. They rang up a $6 chai. Jokes on me. I dropped it on the ground. Maybe Ganesh was protecting me from pee-ja? I had a sip. It was fine. To my dismay, I later saw a separate more reasonable Holiday Menu that had actual Indian dishes at acceptable price points. IE - Chicken 65 or chili for $14. Probably hose you on the rice. I guess the pizza menu didn't get it done on its own. It's run by the Saffron Hospitality Group. Small. About eight tables. I think it was white and blue. Only a cook was there.
*Whomever is in charge of the traffic lights around Epic Universe and Sand Lake from I4 to John Young is a complete moron.